Eastern Shore All-District Basketball Teams Selected


By Krystle Bono

Another basketball season is in the books for the Eastern Shore teams, and after a memorable winter, the All-District teams have been appointed, with two not-surprising names at the top of the lists.

Chincoteague senior Caroline Thornton was selected as Player of the Year and was named to the first team. Thornton finished her tenure with the Ponies varsity club with 1,022 points, reaching the coveted 1,000 point marker Feb. 12. Northampton’s Jawaun Bell was the boys Player of the Year pick. The Yellow Jacket senior also hit the 1,000 point milestone Jan. 3, and was chosen to the boys first team. Arcadia’s Tiair Bibbins was selected as Defensive Player of the Year and was chosen to the second team.

Coach of the Year, for the second time in a row to go along with his back-to-back district and tournament championships was the Chincoteague girls hoops leader Jimmy Bloxom. Wayne Bell Jr. earned the Coach of the Year title for directing the boys varsity Yellow Jackets to the district win this season. He was also the district’s pick during Northampton’s 2017-18 and 2016-17 seasons.

Junior Alanna Hall was selected to represent the Ponies on the girls first team, as was senior Firebird Kaylah Wharton, and two Yellow Jackets – sophomore Jada Giddens and junior Maeyanna Delk.

Joining Bell on the boys first team was fellow Yellow Jacket Vonte Coston, Arcadia’s Lethan Williams, Chincoteague’s Trent Clark, and Nandua’s Gerald Pitt.

The girls second team consists of Nandua’s Kassidy Jones and Ikera Johnson, Arcadia’s Norasia Harris, Chincoteague’s Caroline Shelley, and Northampton’s Brianna Bochman.

Appointed as honorable mention was Chincoteague’s Emma Jackson, Arcadia’s Shanice Long, Nandua’s TreNiqua Bailey, and Northampton’s NaPria Brown.

Second team boys selections were Northampton’s Kasia Clark, Chincoteague’s Ayden Leonard, Nandua’s Branden Sampson, and Arcadia’s Ja’Quan Dorsey.

Boys honorable mention pics were Northampton’s Jeremiah Major and Brian Fisher, Nandua’s Connor McIntyre, Arcadia’s Kylen Wharton, and Chincoteague’s Braden Watson.