Lilliston Wins Race for Accomack Treasurer


By Linda Cicoira — Sixteen-year veteran clerk James A. Lilliston Sr. of the Accomack treasurer’s office obtained two feats Tuesday at the polls. He will be the next Accomack treasurer and the first black man to hold the position. Lilliston received 7,449 votes or 67.79% to win over Brandy Custis Childress, a bank manager, with 3,535 ballots or 32.17%.

“We did it,” Lilliston said Wednesday. “My heart is so full. There are hardly words to express my gratitude. Thank you to everyone who voted for me and who supported my family and I through this process. I am honored to be your new Treasurer of Accomack County.”

“I also want to take a moment to thank my opponent, Mrs. Brandy Custis Childress, for a hard-fought campaign cycle,” he continued. “It was a clean, honest campaign for both of us, and I know we equally have the best intentions for our home on the Shore.”

Lilliston received the majority of votes in Atlantic, Greenbackville, New Church, Bloxom, Parksley, Saxis, Mappsville, Rue, Accomac, Nandua, Bobtown, Melfa, Wachapreague, and Painter. Childress took Chincoteague by a slim margin and Tangier Island.

The tallies were: 585 for Lilliston and 597 for Childress on Chincoteague; 271 for Lilliston and 221 for Childress in Atlantic; 327 for Lilliston and 288 for Childress in Greenbackville; 531 for Lilliston and 223 for Childress in New Church; 239 for Lilliston and 103 for Childress in Bloxom; 414 for Lilliston and 156 for Childress in Parksley; 109 for Lilliston and 33 for Childress on Saxis; 327 for Lilliston and 96 for Childress in Mappsville; 332 for Lilliston and 47 for Childress in Rue; 588 for Lilliston and 243 for Childress in Accomac; 70 for Lilliston and 92 for Childress on Tangier; 1,001 for Lilliston and 470 for Childress at Nandua; 286 for Lilliston and 188 for Childress in Bobtown; 515 for Lilliston and 125 for Childress in Melfa, 260 for Lilliston and 138 for Childress in Wachapreague; and 934 for Lilliston and 323 for Childress in Painter. For absentee ballots, it was 660 for Lilliston and 192 for Childress.

Other constitutional races in Accomack county occurred without opposition.

Capt. W. Todd Wessells, of the Accomack County Sheriff’s Office, got 9,667 votes in his quest for sheriff. There were 32 write-in votes. Despite there being no opposition, Wessells campaigned hard as if he was in a tough race. 

“I’d like to thank all the citizens of Accomack County who came and voted for me,” Wessells said Wednesday. “We have a great department. Great men and women work for the sheriff’s office. It’s a  professional department. I’m looking forward to serving the citizens of Accomack County for the next four years.”

Commissioner of the Revenue Deborah T. Midgett and Commonwealth’s Attorney J. Spencer Morgan III were both unopposed in their first election to full four-year terms. Morgan received 9,084 votes with 21 write-ins while Midgett garnered 8,772 with 18 write-ins.